Magic the Gathering activated abilities

Does an ability resolve if the source of the ability leaves the battlefield?

Yes, Player B however takes harm through the Goblin Fireslinger. Rule 112 covers this properly. Rule 112.3a informs us that Activating a capability places it regarding the pile, until it resolves, is countered (Stifle), or it usually will leave the stack (Time end). Rule 112.7a tells us the activated ability is present independent of the origin, and will not high quality this separation with things moving to a concealed area.

112.3b Activated abilities have actually a cost and an impact. They've Been written as “[Cost]: [Effect.] [Activation guidelines (if any).]” A person may trigger these types of an ability when he or she has priority. Doing so puts it on the stack, where it stays until it is countered, it resolves, or it otherwise simply leaves the bunch. See rule 602, “Activating Activated Abilities.”

112.7a Once activated or caused, a capability is out there in the bunch independently of their source. Destruction or elimination of the foundation after this time won’t impact the capability.

You are able that they're confusing this utilizing the guidelines regarding tracking items that are moving between areas. Generally, objects don't have any memory of these past existence in another zone, and start to become brand-new items. You will find 7 exclusions, and (d/g) are likely those that they've been confusing this with. These exceptions exist, because cards like Rancor exist that need having principles that allow the cards to really work.

400.7. an item that moves from a single area to some other becomes a fresh object without any memory of, or reference to, its previous presence. There are seven exceptions to this rule:

400.7d Abilities that trigger when an object moves from area to a different (for example, “When Rancor is placed into a graveyard from battlefield”) find the newest object so it became inside zone it moved to when the capability caused, if it area is a community zone.

400.7g A resolving spell or triggered ability can perform actions on an item that moved in one zone to a different while that enchantment had been cast or that capability had been activated, if that object relocated to a public zone.


عینک آفتابی
Magic: The Gathering Krosan Grip (Magic the Gathering : Time Spiral #202 Uncommon)
Toy (Magic: The Gathering)
  • From the Time Spiral set.
  • This is of Uncommon rarity.
Wizards of the Coast MTG Magic the Gathering Word of Seizing Collectible Trading Card
Toy (Wizards of the Coast)
  • Time Spiral Expansion
  • Tournament Legal
  • Rare

Related Posts