Magic the Gathering Bloodrush

Can I cast Bloodrush from my hand?

Bloodrush is a triggered ability you could activate from your own hand and just from your hand. You cannot make use of bloodrush if the card is already regarding the battleground.

Many ability in Magic are merely used through the battlefield, but abilities with costs that just apply in other areas, like "Discard this card, " "Reveal this card from your own hand, " or "Exile this card from your own graveyard, " can only just be triggered from those other areas instead.

For a detailed explanation, let us glance at the text of Ghor-Clan Rampager:

Bloodrush — {R}{G}, Discard Ghor-Clan Rampager: Target attacking creature gets +4/+4 and gains trample until end of change.

To start, note exactly how Bloodrush is italicized in the card. That means it really is reminder text, maybe not rules text. Specifically, it's an "ability word" (207.2c into the comp principles). I am just pointing this away as it ensures that, unlike trample or deathtouch, the word itself doesn't imply any additional rules. Every little thing about bloodrush is printed directly on the card.

The ":" suggests that it's a triggered ability — pay a price, get a result. But how do you discard a creature which is in the battleground?

701.7a To discard a card, move it from its owner’s hand to this player’s graveyard.

Therefore, the solution is, that you do not. You can easily only discard the card although it's inside hand. This means...

112.6. Capabilities of an immediate or sorcery spell generally function just while that item is regarding the stack. Abilities of all various other items often work only while that object is from the battleground. The exceptions tend to be as follows:

112.6i An object’s triggered ability who has a cost that can’t be paid as the object is from the battleground features from any zone where its cost can be compensated.

So, since the capability claims "discard Ghor-Clan Rampager" as an expense, you are able to activate it from your hand, even though most capabilities are merely made use of through the battlefield.

Several other items to note about bloodrush, based on the text:

  • Making use of bloodrush is activating an ability, perhaps not casting a spell. It nonetheless continues on the stack but it does not trigger "whenever a spell is cast" triggers and can't be countered by cards that say "Counter target enchantment."
  • You can't trigger the capability whatsoever without a suitable target (an assaulting animal, in this instance).

more
Dan of the Many Magic: The Gathering Modern Gruul Bloodrush Aggro Custom Magic Deck
Toy (Dan of the Many)
  • Magic: The Gathering
  • Magic: The Gathering Deck
  • MTG
  • Magic Deck
  • MTG Deck
Wizards of the Coast Magic the Gathering (MTG) Gatecrash Intro Pack: Gruul Goliaths (Includes 2 Booster Packs)
Toy (Wizards of the Coast)
  • Magic the Gathering (MTG) Gatecrash Intro Pack: Gruul Goliaths
  • Includes 2 Booster Packs
  • Features the bloodrush mechanic
  • Discard a creature to pump up an attacking creature

Related Posts