Magic the Gathering destroy

Does Wrath of God really destroy creatures with shroud?

To start with, there's somewhat rule everyone is forgetting and it's also the appropriate target guideline which just states before a permanent can be damaged or removed from play it has becoming an appropriate target of an enchantment:

608.2b [During resolution, if] the enchantment or ability specifies targets, it checks whether the objectives remain appropriate.

All spells target, including those with "all" in their text. If a spell states it cannot target, it cannot destroy something in line with the appropriate target rule. For a spell to impact a permanent, the permanent must be a legal target for stated spell.

Whenever Noxious Ghoul or another Zombie enters the battleground, all non-Zombie animals get -1/-1 until end of change.

Zombies don't get the -1/-1 countertop since they're perhaps not legal objectives of Noxious Ghoul's ability. Essentially, since there tend to be appropriate targets for every single enchantment, means with "all" target "all" aswell.

Another basic wise practice example is Crux of Fate. Crux of Fate provides a range of either destroying all dragons or destroying all non-dragons, which means means it will both target and destroy all legal target dragons or target and destroy all appropriate target non-dragons.

This really is basic wise practice - if a spell cannot target everything it doesn't do any such thing.


iphone x apps
Wizards of the Coast Magic: the Gathering - Demolish (121) - Zendikar
Toy (Wizards of the Coast)
  • A single individual card from the Magic: the Gathering (MTG) trading and collectible card game (TCG/CCG).
  • This is of Common rarity.
  • From the Zendikar set.
Wizards of the Coast Hoard-Smelter Dragon
Toy (Wizards of the Coast)
  • A single individual card from the Magic: the Gathering (MTG) trading and collectible card game (TCG/CCG).
  • This is of Rare rarity.
  • From the Scars of Mirrodin set.
Magic: The Gathering Decree of Pain (Magic the Gathering : Scourge #64 Rare)
Toy (Magic: The Gathering)
  • From the Scourge set
  • This card is rare
Wizards of the Coast Magic: the Gathering - Dreadbore (157) - Return to Ravnica
Toy (Wizards of the Coast)
  • A single individual card from the Magic: the Gathering (MTG) trading and collectible card game (TCG/CCG).
  • This is of Rare rarity.
  • From the Return to Ravnica set.
Wizards of the Coast Magic: the Gathering - Kill! Destroy! - Unhinged
Toy (Wizards of the Coast)
  • A single individual card from the Magic: the Gathering (MTG) trading and collectible card game (TCG/CCG).
  • This is of Uncommon rarity.
  • From the Unhinged set.

Related Posts