Magic the Gathering graveyard

Do tokens ever go to the graveyard and can they be sacrificed or exiled?

Easily had a card nevertheless something like, "Enchanted creature gets +1/+1 for every single animal in your graveyard".

There cannot be such a card.

Since "animal" indicates "creature permanent" consequently "creature card or token regarding battleground", and since a card or token may not be in graveyard and on the battlefield simultaneously, the enchantment would never affect the connected item's power and toughness.

The capability would likely review "Enchanted creature gets +1/+1 for each creature card in your graveyard" like Jarad, Golgari Lich Lord's, which means that it couldn't count any tokens since tokens aren't cards.

But let's hypothetically say there's a card that has the capability "Enchanted creature gets +1/+1 for every single animal card and every animal token inside graveyard".

Would that also connect with tokens which died in past turns?

Tokens go directly to the graveyard the same as a card would. But they only remain there for an extremely short period of the time. Next time State-Based Actions (SBAs) are performed, they'll disappear.

Tokens positioned in the graveyard on a previous change have ceased to occur long-ago.

In fact, the effect examining for tokens inside graveyard wouldn't also start to see the tokens that passed away this turn excluding a very short (and virtually ineffective) time frame. The longest situation might be if the tokens are put to the graveyard throughout the resolution of a spell or capability, considering that the SBAs will likely to be only be done following the spell or capability finishes fixing. It could make a difference in the event your opponent features concealed Predators, but that's about it.

easily perform a card which claims, return target creature from the graveyard then can I pick a token?

Once more, animals (aka creature permanents) cannot be based in the graveyard. It might be impossible to select a legal target.

The result would review something such as "Return target animal card from your graveyard to your battleground". This excludes tokens as they aren't cards.

You will never find "Return target creature card or token from your own graveyard to the battlefield." for two factors:

  1. Even if there was a token was at the graveyard when goals were selected, it could have ceased to exists by the time the enchantment or capability solved.
  2. a guideline prohibits the tokens from switching zones after they've kept the battleground.

    110.5g A token that includes left the battlefield can’t go on to another area or come-back onto the battlefield. If such a token would alter areas, it remains with its current area as an alternative. It ceases to occur the very next time state-based actions tend to be checked; see rule 704.

Today I prefer Dice to portray tokens,

It is an unhealthy (and unlawful) choice to use a die to represent a type of token since a die can't be tapped.

however yes how to handle it as soon as any one of my tokens pass away.

Your tokens would move the graveyard, and soon once they will vanish. Most people do not bother actually going all of them to the graveyard. Simply adjust the count.


qprofit
Wizards of the Coast Magic: the Gathering - Akoum Firebird (138/274) - Battle for Zendikar - Foil
Toy (Wizards of the Coast)
  • A single individual card from the Magic: the Gathering (MTG) trading and collectible card game (TCG/CCG).
  • This is of Mythic Rare rarity.
  • From the Battle for Zendikar set.
  • You will receive the Foil version of this card.

Related Posts