Magic the Gathering Counterspell rules

Can extort be triggered for countered spells?

If my adversary has actually an animal with extort away, after that casts an enchantment that We counter, can he still spend the 1 mana to trigger extort?

Yes.

702.100. Extort

702.100a Extort is a triggered ability. "Extort" means "when you cast a spell, you might pay . When you do, each adversary loses 1 life and also you get life corresponding to the full total life lost because of this."

So Extort is a caused capability which included with the stack when a spell is cast. Triggered capabilities are included with the stack before concern is passed.

Does he need pick whether or not to spend the mana before or after I have countered the spell?

The Gatecrash FAQ clarifies as soon as the mana is compensated:

You might spend {W/B} no more than onetime per extort triggered capability. You decide whether or not to spend as soon as the ability resolves.

In the event that counterspell is added to the bunch following the triggered ability, it will probably fix first. The gamer whoever enchantment is countered reaches pick if to cover the extort after the counterspell resolves. Obviously, it's implications if the counterspell had been something similar to Spell Rupture.

But as @AlexP rightly highlights, the wise counterspell caster will wait for extort trigger to solve, and discover whether their particular adversary chooses to pay the mana for this, then determine whether to throw a counterspell like Spell Rupture when they get concern.


carbonfx scam review

Related Posts