Magic the Gathering Infect rules

How does Infect resolve in M:TG?

If a 2/2 poison creature is blocked by an ordinary 3/3 creature what are the results ?

I am aware the 3/3/ gets two -1/-1 counters rather than damage but does it do 3 or 1 injury to my 2/2 poison animal ?

can anyone offer mention of the formal guidelines on as soon as the counters come right into play?

510.2. 2nd, all combat damage that has been assigned is dealt at the same time. This turn-based activity does not make use of the pile. No player gets the chance to cast spells or activate capabilities involving the time combat harm is assigned additionally the time it is dealt. It is a big change from earlier principles.

a creature with infect deals damage similar to this, relating to rule 119.3d & e and 702.88c:

119.3d Damage dealt to a creature by a supply with wither and/or infect triggers that lots of -1/-1 counters become put-on that creature.

119.3e Harm dealt to an animal by a resource with neither wither nor infect factors that much damage to be marked on that animal.

702.88c Damage dealt to an animal by a source with infect isn't marked thereon creature. Rather, it causes that many -1/-1 counters to be put on that animal. See guideline 119.3.

For that reason, since harm is performed simultaneously additionally the counters enter into play on top of that harm is dealt, your 2/2 animal with infect will be dealt 3 harm, while the 3/3 creature can get two -1/-1 counters through the combat harm action. Your animal with infect will consequently die.


qprofit system
Wizards of the Coast MTG Magic the Gathering Epic Proportions Collectible Trading Card
Toy (Wizards of the Coast)
  • Lorwyn Expansion
  • Tournament Legal
  • Rare

Related Posts